See me shiver with antici……pation

I am filled with inexpressable joy. It turns out that I have a chance to dress again really soon. Must have been a month or two since the last time – so long I can’t remember exactly when. What I do remember is that it was only for a couple of hours one evening. This next dress date promises an empty house for just under 24 hours. A rarity indeed! As a result I have a half day booked off work and even plan to celebrate with the now annual event of removing the leg hair as well as the chest hair (low cut tops here I come). I’ve also found myself quietly planning outfits – I have some new ones you see. Some tops and a skirt from a ‘Christmas shopping trip’ I made with a friend from work. Recently I have also come into possession of a couple of dresses from one of my wife’s friends.They are both size 16’s so they are too big for my wife and there is something appealing about them I can’t explain. I wouldn’t have purchased them if I’d seen them in a shop but then I probably miss a lot when I’m browsing. I’m still a nervous soul deep down and my shopping style is perhaps a little furtive at times. The other reason that I’m pre-planning is that I would like to try having another little clearout. I know I have some things that still aren’t part of a definitive outfit so they have to go. Of course I’m saying that now but there are some things like a few of my skirts that I keep saying I’ll get rid of but don’t because I really like them regardless.

houndtooth  at the door

These days I have been selling my unwanted stuff on eBay so it means I can get a bit of cash from things like dresses, tops and even a couple of my old wigs. Though I mainly sell non-girly things like CDs, DVDs, books – I even sold a clock recently. I admit I can’t often find it in my heart to be ruthless when it comes to clothes and shoes. Even with ones that are holey and busted. Some of the band t-shirts I’ve kept hold of down through the years are in an unspeakably abominable state. Shoes as well, ones that are really worn down and holey – I tend to keep them for the summer months. The dry season.

Speaking of busted shoes and an extended dress date, both of these factors have previously met, or should I say collided in an unfortunate fashion. In January last year I’d treated myself to a pair of black knee high boots with a cuban heel. Finding decent cheap boots was tricky last year as my usual outlets had forsaken the heel. They were all selling perfectly decent boots but with no elevation. There needs to be a heel or I’m not interested. I managed to find a pair that met both standards of height and size (accomadating my biggish feet) for £10 in the sale at Primark. Trying them on at home, they fitted fine so I removed the tags and tossed the receipt. A week or so later when giving them their first proper outing, the zip on the right boot came apart in my hand. I was furious. That basically ruined my night though I sought to repair it as best I could. The wonder that is super glue eventually solved this problem. Luckily they both slip on alright without engaging the zip, especially when wearing hoes.

fluffy sleeve  on the bed

As well as planning outfits I also plan to just try and enjoy it while it lasts, even see if I can stay in character (such as it is) throughout – except when sleeping, that’s just silly! In the past I have managed around 6-8 hours in the evening on average. Sometimes there’s even a little overspill into the morning when I wake up. I’m looking forward to waking up with smooth legs. I only repeat it in the morning though if I know there’s time to do it and tidy up. Not that I’m really messy or anything you understand but just incase I’ve left something lying out. That’s a remnant of the past right there, a sign of my diligence. I was never caught out but came pretty close on a few occasions. I avoided it with stupendous luck that one time I became locked out. One other time I had left a box of my wife’s make-up out that I had been using. It was one that she didn’t really use much so she was confused as to why it was sitting on the bed. I hastily explained that I was tidying up under the bed and I had left it out to see if she still wanted it. She did want to keep them as it happens so back under the bed it went. In recent years such situations have more humourous potential. For instance, if I put any of Anna’s stuff in for a wash it can sometimes cause mild confusion. Black tights for instance did just that a few months ago. When we were sorting through all the dry washing separating it into bundles I noticed my tights (the only pair in the wash as it happens) going into my wife’s pile. I raised a polite objection and after a brief tete a tete she conceded I was right and we laughed about the absurdity of it.

I hope to post again soon and share any pics or stories from my dress date…providing of course they’re worth sharing

Leave a Reply

