Ode from a Toad

‘Ode from a Toad’

I was born inside a parody
I was born in someone else’s joke
With no concept of permanence
I was doomed before I even spoke,
My first steps were unspectacular
But at least they didn’t end in a fall
I stomp around unaided now
Hindered only by feeling so small

You were born inside a mystery
Wrapped tightly in an enigma
And my feeble attempts to understand
Well they didn’t get me very far,
Your manner is quite peculiar
Equally attracts and it repels
I’d like to know what you’re really thinking of
But I’m certain you will never tell

image

3 thoughts on “Ode from a Toad

Leave a Reply

