Purge

The embed of this song appears to only show up on the web version of WordPress, here is also a direct link: https://chairmancow.bandcamp.com/track/purge

‘Purge’

Anxiety returns
My cup it overflows
Though angles may vary
Just like appreciation,
Although my neck is cracked
I will soldier on
No hiding places left
I’ve used them all up now

Positivity is conspicuous by it’s non-appearance
Long minutes of silence punctuated with occasional excitement
Or is it excrement?

Abandoning my love
An indecisive gesture
Though it’s not intended
To upset or dishearten,
Gradually I learn
To survive these feelings
Gain a louder
And more ominous perfection

Negativity is abhorrent and it’s right in front of us
Long hours of nothing disturbed by sudden activity –
Am I drowning in rhetoric?
In passing have you read me?
So many questions I forget them all
Although I hope you don’t
I feel a purge coming on
Someone says it’s clinical but I don’t know

I won’t abandon anything
Unless it truly deserves it
I close a book to earn a break
And forgot where I put it,
I’ll accentuate the positive
When I know I mean it
It’s the only lie
I can’t bring myself to be a part of…

In lieu of the new album which I shall share in the coming weeks, here is a track from my 2009 album ‘Ole Spider Plate’. This was the first song (and one of few) where I’m singing about my curious hobby. If you’re just reading the words sans the music I bet you’re thinking “How the hell would you sing these words?”. Well I somehow managed. Fear not – it’s not as depressing as it seems. It’s kind of uplifting 🙂

6 thoughts on “Purge

Leave a Reply

