Not so Secret Poet

An idea has taken hold of me. That’s often the way it is with me and ideas. I wonder if everyone else is the same. As well as being a prime example of pure inspiration I’m extremely surprised I hadn’t thought of it a whole lot sooner. Drag Poet!

Let me explain, for some time now I have become increasingly dissatisfied with my music. In particular the way that I have not found an audience in the 20 or so years I’ve been doing it. Creatively speaking it is wearing me down. I have had the honour of playing at a couple of cabaret nights in Glasgow in the past year and have been struck by the diversity of talent on show. It’s made me feel normal and relatively uninteresting when at heart I know for a fact I’m anything but normal. I’ve seen poets, magicians, burlesque dancers, boylesque dancers, bizarre comedy routines and da da-esque singalongs to name but a few things and I want to join in! Up until now I’ve been unsure of how. In late 2013 I began to sneak crossdressing into my stage attire (sneak perhaps id too subtle a word…) albeit without hair and make-up and it’s mostly went down okay. My last solo gig in particular was brilliant – because I did 2 sets I got a costume change and found a willing and extremely open-minded audience. This combined with my recent Twitter explosion and reminded me of the fact that I’m Anna Secret Poet and perhaps a poet I should be. A poet in drag! It was one of those ideas that arrived fully formed and I even know what poetry I would recite. Dubious poems, daft poems, modified song lyrics like what I have shared on this page in the recent past. My look would be easier still as I already have a look. Bookish, trying for elegance and only vaguely succeeding. My best comparison would be Tommy Cooper who was seemingly inept but had flashes of genius. I guess I should be concerned with discovery etc but I’m not overly worried as I’d be doing this amongst arty and open-minded folk in arty open-minded places. Who knows, the first time may be an abomination and there may be no further ones.

A purely selfish upside could also be that it would fulfill my social desire for a couple of hours as the set itself would only be 5-10 minutes at a guess. It has almost been a year since my inaugural outing and I have wanted to recapture it. In fact I feel sure I’d be able to top it which I admit wouldn’t be hard. Finding willing participants for a secong outing has been difficult, not only that but I know it would probably not go down well at home. It’s a pity as I know I’d be careful. The last one was planned with almost militaristic precision. Anyway with regards to my idea I would like to try it regardless. If it works then great but if it doesn’t then at least I’ll know or be able to revise it. I wouldn’t want it to be one of those notions that gets buried away like so many others – some deservedly some not. Being a confirmed overthinker it’s likely I’ll spend the rest of my life wondering what it could’ve been like. I’m going to ponder on it some more and perhaps run it by some of the cabaret people I know. Also I’d like to reassure you it won’t be a piss-take!

image

17 thoughts on “Not so Secret Poet

  1. Veronica Beta

    Dear Miss Secret-Poet.
    I think your concept of a drag poet is cool. Maybe you could dress in some period piece threads and give narratives in poetry about events of the day. Or possibly mimic celebrities and get some material there. I should think there is a lot of material in your homeland to cover. Scotland is a majical place. Lived there for three years. We would live there for three more if we could! 🙂 Majical !!!!!!!! Scots Wha Hae ! 🙂

    Cheers,

    Veronica

    Reply
    1. Anna Secret-Poet Post author

      Thank you Veronica, it’s great to hear from you! Whereabouts did you stay in Scotland and where are you now? With my act I plan (so far) on largely being an exaggerated version of myself so the humour will chiefly come in my delivery. The poem I posted the other day is likely to be in the repertoire. Once I’ve worked it out a bit more I should be able to talk about it more coherently. I hope you have a lovely weekend when it comes! X

      Reply
      1. Veronica Beta

        Lived in a place called Edzell, worked at the RAF base there. Think it may have been closed now. Now I am in BE-YOU-TEE-FULL Colorado! It really is. (Except now with the snow and the wind chill) My wife was born in Kilmarnock. The very best of luck on your new endeavor and we’ll think of you each day when we give thanks for that another shot at the prize. Happiness. That’s a prize with fighting for! 🙂 X & X (One from my Baby)

  2. daniellaargento

    I say do it! You have little to lose and a lot to gain. I wish I could be there to support you. It would be nice to see a transgender act that is authentic. I feel that drag parodies women. It can be insulting and it often feels inauthentic. If you were the authentic Anna performing on stage it could be amazing. It could also fall a bit flat and possibly confuse the audience (in a bad way). But life without risk is a life without reward. Good luck.

    Reply
    1. Anna Secret-Poet Post author

      Thank you for that! Indeed I’m not certain how it could go down but I’d love to give it a try. The humour I have in mind should derive from my poems so hopefully it will be okay. I hope you have a lovely weekend when it comes x

      Reply
    1. Anna Secret-Poet Post author

      Thank you Val, you’re very kind to say. Going to speak to a couple of my cabaret contacts on Monday and pitch it to them. There are several different nights like that in Glasgow so hopefully I’ll fit into one of them. I hope you’re having a lovely weekend X

      Reply

Leave a Reply

