Look what the cabaret dragged in!

So I actually did it! Last Friday I took to the stage and dramatically recited some poetry Anna-style. Filled with excitement and a little bit of terror it was all over in a flash…and then I got changed and we went home.

In my plans the previous week I had decided to get changed in work and walk to the venue which I estimated to be around 20-25 minutes away. It’s a cafe so it doesn’t have a backstage so reportedly the performers fight over the disabled toilet. (Funnily when I did get changed to go home there were remnants of the burlesque dancers strewn around; glitter and boa feathers. A colourful restroom indeed). And this I did! Echoes of the last night out reverberated in my mind only this time my confidence was a few notches higher. I spent less time getting ready than that previous ocassion, about 45 minutes. I had chosen the toilet nearest the exit I was intending to use and before leaving I slipped into my comfy ankle boots – well I wasn’t going to wear my good red pumps en route. Especially as it was bloody raining. Luckily I had my umbrella.

image

image

The walk was very exciting as at the last minute my intended route changed. I was going to go a back way that would exchange a main road for something quieter but I thought what the hell! My umbrella would protect me. By the time I got to the Rio Cafe I must have looked a state. My eyeliner was running and I was rather warm but I soon climatised. My wife and her friend were already there and must have got a wee shock at coming face to face with the mad poet so soon. We had dinner and drinks and talked whilst many other folk arrived. I was really chuffed to see several friends turning up including my sister and her man. I think my set itself went well, there was applause and some laughter (which was intentional on my part). The ‘Stuck in a Dress’ poem went down the best I think. I could have done more but the well was dry and I dismounted the stage in a daze. One of my friends is a photographer and documented some of the proceedings. I had hoped to include some but haven’t seen them yet so I may include them in the next post. Here are a small selection – the lighting wasn’t very good sadly…

image

image

image

image

image

image

Someone we know also did some HD filming and uploaded a compilation of the night to Youtube which you can view from here…

I can’t wait to do it all again! I’ve been working on some more material and working out what else I can wear. I reckon I’ll use different hair next time too – something that frames the face better. There’s no sign of another gig yet but I’m working on it. I had such a close shave that I took the opportunity to do some make-up practice the next morning. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it! I want to master liquid eyeliner you see, does it look okay?

image

18 thoughts on “Look what the cabaret dragged in!

  1. meganmilesauthor

    Wow! Congratulations on your debut. I am so happy for you 🙂 The whole evening sounds exhilarating! Red, next time, definitely compliments your skin tone, Anna. Love the pointed toe pumps, too 😉 Liquid eyeliner IS tricky, but your makeup is always lovely…subtle and enhancing, never gaudy. Just lovely!

    Reply
    1. Anna Secret Poet Post author

      Thank you very much indeed! Red you say, I may just do that. I do hope there is a next time soon – can’t wait to do it again and do it better! I have hooded lids too so it makes eye make-up especially tricky, plus my left eye’s crap so when I close my right one to apply it all I see is a fuzzy blurry thing 😄 Thank you also for saying I’m not gaudy X

      Reply
  2. Siobhan Hapgood

    Huge congrats on an awesome performance. Can’t wait for your next video – perhaps you might consider playing the lucrative retirement home circuit down here, (I could lie about my age to get in). Incidentally, your liquid eyeliner technique is heaps better than mine – I’m still at the smudgy pencil look, (when I can be bothered to use the stuff).

    Reply
  3. A Kinder Way

    The video sure did show a fun time. I wish I could have attended…the drive would be a bit far though 😉 Love the red dress and the heels. Very flattering. If you master liquid eyeliner (and it looks as though you have) you should post a tutorial because I can’t use the stuff!

    Reply
  4. michellen1960

    Well done you! That was a brave step to take indeed. And it all seems to have gone soooo well. Liquid eyeliner?? It took me a few attempts of getting it in my eyes by not lettingbit dry enough before blinking. Now I have it down to a ‘T’ and would not consider any other method now.

    Reply
  5. ghostmmnc

    Hey there, Anna! Thanks for posting the video! You didn’t look nervous at all, and the enthusiasm while reading your poetry was wonderful! I think you are a natural entertainer! 🙂 Wishing you much more happy times!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

