Last Minute Gig Joy!

Excitingly on Tuesday I was offered a last minute gig for a Thursday night cabaret at a significant venue for me. I had been offered the chance to perform at the Riding Room – the very destination for Anna’s first excursion into the world. I felt I could hardly turn it down! It was just a brief set as usual, around 10 minutes worth and I decided that as well as the usual poems I would end on a song accompanying myself on the guitar. That ought to liven things up a little.

The host was a lady called Roxy Stardust – a formidably dressed lady indeed and she greeted me with a warm hug. ‘Roxy’s Round Up’ was the official title of the night and she explained that it was a chance to try new acts out. I hoped in some way that I would pass the test so to speak as I’m starting to get a good feeling about what I’m doing and finally gaining some form of confidence. I was determined not to let her down. As it happens everyone else on the bill were burlesque dancers and that was an utter joy. Having to share a dressing space was tricky though I can assure you that I played the part of the gentleman well.

I opened the second act around the half 11 but after reading 3 poems I got the feeling that it was best to break out the song. I realise poetry isn’t for everyone and although there were laughs in the right places I was tired. I gave them my spirited rendition of ‘Angel Eyes (Home and Away)’ by Wet Wet Wet. A tried and tested classic that I know inside out and didn’t need to pre-rehearse. Next time I’ll break out something equally diverse ;).

I think I went down reasonably well and when I came off stage I headed straight for the dressing area. I’d built up quite a heat and knew it was time to ‘normalize’. Happily I was able to save taxi money by catching the last bus – although it bloody crawled home I can tell you. Got in for half 1. Pity I couldn’t have gotten the next day off from work 😩.

I only got to take one picture, just after I’d gotten changed. Though I did notice a man snapping away at stage right so hopefully I’ll see and share some official photos at one point. Actually I was quite pleased with how I looked this time round. Possibly it was because the area where I got changed was a bit chilly so my make-up didn’t run. I had some problems the last time with my eyeliner in particular. My next gig is on the 18th of May and that’s looking like it’s going to be a cracker too!

image

9 thoughts on “Last Minute Gig Joy!

  1. DaisyWillows

    Sounds like it was a great gig. PLEASE post more pcs if you can get hold of them- loving the green blouse or dress?? Suits your skin tone.I am now on the hunt for a green dress in that colour for my hen do -Sorry ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
    1. Anna Secret Poet Post author

      It was indeed thank you! Because it’s the bar in questions birthday bash all weekend no pics have gone up yet. I’m presuming they’ll put them all up at the same time. The green dress is one of my favourites – I was particularly excited to be wearing it out. Don’t apologise, I wish you luck in your quest. If only I could give the shade an exact name to help you out X

      Reply
  2. Janie

    At long last, I have had the chance to go through the site, as promised and LOVING it ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ‘ I’m wishing I could carry off a dress so well. I will b in touch. Miss u x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

