Anna’s Equality Poem

In a couple of weeks time I shall making an appearance at my first legitimate poetry and spoken word evening. A mildly terrifying prospect after the cosy safety of variety and cabaret! There is also a theme to the night which is Equality. Apparently you don’t need to stick to the theme but I thought it’d be impolite not to. After banging my head off a wall for a couple of weeks I shook some words out and they formed a sort of piece which I’d like to share if you don’t object.

‘Anna’s Equality Poem’

We’re the same you and I

Except for the wig…

and I hope that so far

you’re all enjoying this gig,

I have no facts or figures

to quantify equality

to do so anyway

would depend on your ideology;

we don’t all dive in from the rain

but we all feel pain

we don’t all support the same team

we all have aspirations and dreams!

We’re the same you and I

except for the fake breasts…

I mostly keep my head down

and hope for the best,

I have no detailed analyses

to offer about equality

instead I choose to focus

on our similarities;

We don’t all sit and wonder

about the skies we are under

we all have to drink and eat

and eventually…excrete!

We’re the same you and I

except for the heels…

I possess the instinct to survive

I know you know how that feels,

I have no problems with

the notion of equality

as a human it should be

our moral duty;

We don’t all fight wars or watch ‘Eastenders’

we don’t all know about the spectrum of gender

we all occasionally like a laugh

and occasionally…we all need a bath!

7 thoughts on “Anna’s Equality Poem

    1. Anna Secret Poet Post author

      Thank you hun, I definitely wanted to stay away from preachiness. I’m calling it a first draft but I probably can’t be bothered going through it again πŸ˜„

      Reply

Leave a Reply

