Ten Gigs Down!

On Friday I performed my tenth Anna Secret Poet gig. I can’t believe it has been 10 already since February. I would say I’ve come a long way but I’m not sure it’s true. I’m still my ramshackle old self nervously poeming and strumming and shouting. Mostly I’m okay with that approach as I tend to worry that I may overthink it too much and ruin it somehow. Is that overthinking it?

Anyway this was a most enjoyable gig put on in a pub in Glasgow called McChuills by good folk who go by the names of Robert Winning and Kavita Bhardwaj. They are gloriously amongst the very few people who have rebooked me so far so I am especially grateful to them. It was an evening of comedy, music and glamour (with me providing the glamour by the way – honestly, it said so on the original poster). Knowing the venue all to well in advance I knew I’d have nowhere to get changed before hand. Into the toilets in work again to transform and then onto another train…this time armed with a fan I’d purcased off of ebay a couple of weeks back.

I couldn’t resist a train pic – another first. I seem relatively serene!

My wife came along to this gig as well which is always nice, we don’t get to spend too much quality time together these days.

Kavita was hosting it though it’s a shame as I enjoyed her the last time I seen her and would have loved to have seen more. There was comedy from Andrew Ogilvie, Karin Nixon, Auld Tam (who as it turns out used to write for ‘Naked Video’ and ‘Scotch & Wry’ in the 80’s), Scott McPherson and a chap called Ed Whitely. He was the highlight for me as he came armed with a trombone and he wasn’t afraid to use it. Music was by Clare Lynn, The Bikini Bottoms and St Providence. I was sandwiched between the comedy and bands so I had to follow Ed Whitely which was mighty tricky but I reckon I just about got away with it. Still doing my peculiar mix of originals and eighties covers. I debuted my cover of ‘Breakaway’ by Big Pig which if you don’t recognise the name is the song from the start of ‘Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure’. It needs a bit of work but could become a decent icebreaker in the future.

I got to talk to few folk afterwards which is always nice and Auld Tam suggested I try The Stand comedy club for a gig. That sounds a bit out of my league and I don’t know if if I could work a crowd who expect to laugh but I may look into it. Another wee surprise was that my friend Deedee whom I met at my Allsorts gig a few months back popped along with her pal Bea and Bea’s daughter Tia. They missed my part as they’d been to see ‘The Rocky Horror Show’  – I bet that’d have been brilliant!

Now I’m planning for my next gig, I’ll be appearing at a cabaret that’s happening as part of the Pride celebrations next weekend. The dress code is ‘fierce’ so we’ll see if I can have a bash at that. I’m really looking forward to this one as I’m in especially good company!

Going to sign off now, I shall leave you with a wee video of me murdering a Yazoo song 😄

8 thoughts on “Ten Gigs Down!

Leave a Reply

